Goodbye to Greece

The last stop on our Mediterranean cruise was easily my favorite. We were spending the day in Corfu, Greece. We knew that there was a beach there, and since the day was sunny, our plans were easy.

First we had to figure out how to get to the beach. And where it was. So why wouldn’t we rent a car? Excuse me, a van, since there were eight of us. Never mind the fact that all of the signs were in Greek, and it’s one of the most complicated languages ever written. Only two of us knew how to drive a standard, and I certainly wasn’t volunteering. I wasn’t about to be the one responsible for killing seven of my friends for taking a wrong turn off a cliff.

But Mandy was braver than I, and volunteered to be our driver. I have no idea how she managed to do it, and we definitely had some obstacles with parking and extremely sharp mountain turns, but she drove us safely to the beach. Go, girl! I’ve been to a lot of beaches in my life, but this was easily one of the most beautiful I had ever seen. The water was a shimmering green, and you could see all the way to the bottom. The sand was fine, and the beach was nearly empty. Heaven.

After being beach bums all day, we stopped at one of the waterfront Greek restaurants and had another amazing meal. And several more bottles of Mythos…delicious! Mandy then managed to drive us back to the rental car place; I have no idea how she found it again. We even found our way back to the ship. And then we sailed, slowly but surely, back to Venice. Slowly but surely toward home.

Leave a Reply

