Sleepless Obsession

I guess Mr. Toad was frightened by his new celebrity status; I haven’t laid eyes on him since my last blog post. It’s not for lack of trying, I’ve looked for him every day. Maybe he left because I haven’t built him a toad house yet. I swear it is on my list of things to do, which just got a whole lot longer, thanks to my latest online obsession. I mean, discovery.

It started innocently enough. If you know me, you know that J and I bought our first house a few months ago. I was beyond excited to start with a blank canvas and be able to do WHATEVER I wanted. Well, it hasn’t been quite that way, since while Hubs and I generally agree on things, we aren’t exactly on the same page when it comes to decorating.

We agreed that we both wanted a more modern look; this is probably due to the fact that the rental house we were in was very. very. VERY dated. We are talking wooden walls, shiny brass fixtures, popcorn ceilings, the works. So you see why we were pumped to start fresh on our newer home.

We started by de-cluttering in a major way. Our goal was to be seriously streamlined and minimalist. We got rid of our traditional furniture and borrowed some black leather furniture (we are saving for new…one of these days). We painted everything neutral colors (but I put my foot down at beige). We got everything set up (for the most part).

And now…I think it looks empty. Plain. Completely void of personality. J loves it, because it’s the simple look that he wanted. I miss my tons of photos and knick knacks. Now, I’m all about the newly found lack of clutter. Especially with our new bundle of joy on the way; we will have enough clutter after that happens. And I mean with stuff, not the kid.

So what did I do? As always, I turned to Google. It started innocently enough. I simply typed in “dining room centerpiece” and was rewarded with….drumroll, please! My new obsession. Er, discovery.

Thrifty Decor Chick.

I have spent the past four nights staying up way too late reading her blog. I’ve added about 15 new projects to my ongoing “house wish list”. I have tried running a few ideas past J, and I’m fairly certain he thinks I’m insane. Blame it on pregnancy, but by George, I am GOING to paint the laundry room. And I’m going to paint our front door just so I can order this cool address sticker that I found on Etsy, thanks to Thrifty Decor Chick. And….well, of course I’m going to completely copy her dining room centerpiece. And I have plenty of ideas for my mantel (which looks super BLAH….for now.) I may not have the greatest track record of completing tasks like this, but I WILL do it this time. I figure I have five more weeks to find out if my little bun will prefer pink or blue, so until then, I need to get busy on the rest of the house. Because after that, I will be busy turning my half-assed guest room into a nursery. I say “half-assed” because we didn’t get any further than painting the walls and setting up the bed before we found out about the little bun in the oven. That being said, you really don’t want to stay in our guest room, it’s not the best. Sorry.

I am thrilled beyond words at my new discovery, and my only complaints are that a) she makes things look easy and amazing, and I really doubt I will be that good, and b) she is keeping me up past my bedtime. But you know the truly ironic part in this? Since I started reading her blog, Chloe hasn’t woken me up but one time. So it seems that no matter what happens, I won’t get enough sleep. Add to the fact that I can’t sleep anyway because my mind is racing with all of the fabulous things that I dream of doing to our new pad.

Sigh. When my house looks fantastic, then I can sleep….right?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah @ Thrifty Decor Chick
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 04:13:28

    Awww, you are too sweet!! I swear your stuff will look as good with some practice! 🙂 I’ve been at this for a while. Thanks so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

